The Dissemination of Thought

Just because it's in print doesn't mean it's intelligent…

Opinions and ink

with 15 comments

For a change, I don’t have much to say. I’ve spent my day off avoiding words and opting instead to draw. It was ridiculously refreshing not to have to think about sentences and conveying a nonsensical message.

I’m getting a tattoo – my second – when I head back to Brisbane in September and have come up with a rough concept I’d like to share with you. Obviously, the tattoo artist will work their magic in coming up with the final design, but I wanted the opinion of my readers about the original scribbling.

So, what’s the verdict? Do you have ink? If you do, what and where? If you don’t have any tattoos and find the mere thought of them repulsive, why?

Written by disseminatedthought

June 19, 2012 at 21:17

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hmmmm, I don’t have a tattoo and don’t think I’ll get one. I’m not repulsed by them, but I do question why anybody would want tattoo their entire body, or several limbs.
    that said, what is the meaning behind your tattoo? I see an Irish link with the shamrock. The reference to a cross also makes me think good Irish catholic boy

    Ruth2Day

    June 19, 2012 at 21:25

    • My father’s side of the family is Irish, but the rest of your assumption is way off the mark. If anything, I’m the antithesis of a good Irish Catholic boy.

      disseminatedthought

      June 19, 2012 at 21:32

  2. Make it very very Celtic and it will stand the test of time much longer. Look at old fella’s with tats on their forearms and base your decision on that.

    gingerfightback

    June 19, 2012 at 21:43

  3. My friend was asked why she didn’t have tattoos and she responded with “for the same reason you don’t put a bumper sticker on a Ferrari.” Personally, I think it’s more like a custom paint job than a bumper sticker, but only if it looks right, has meaning, and suits the person

    gomeasy

    June 19, 2012 at 21:54

  4. That should render well to ink.
    Tattoos are so personal. I have one in Japanese kanji which means (integrated) ‘love and respect’ it’s something I feel very strongly about – whereas in English that doesn’t exist as one word, but 2 very seperate.

    Cakes McCain

    June 19, 2012 at 21:57

  5. This looks great! Where are you planning on having it?

    The Texan

    June 19, 2012 at 22:18

  6. I really like it. Having strong Irish roots myself and a collapsed Catholic I completely understand the sentiment behind it.

    I have 3 tattoos (one on the inside of each ankle (a paw and the little man my Dad drew in the card he gave me after I passed my licensing exams after college) and “You’re never too old to become young” -MW [Mae West] on my left shoulder). While I may dream of a half-sleeve of Sailor-Jerry styled work I think I’m done. But I said that after my first one and look what happened!

    12 Novels in 12 Months

    June 19, 2012 at 22:51

  7. I think I would just spontaneously combust if I put a cross anywhere on my body. I do have a few tattoos though. One is chinese characters for “seize the day” the other is my zodiac sign and the last one is latin: nosce te ipsum.

    gingerjudgesyou

    June 19, 2012 at 23:07

  8. I don’t have any tattoos and while one or two tattoos on someone can be intriguing, I don’t quite understand the desire to cover one’s body in permanent ink. I also think that tattoos can detract from a nicely shaped human form. Women don’t go to Italy to gaze at the statue of David because it is covered in intricate drawings.

    sandylikeabeach

    June 20, 2012 at 02:19

  9. I love it, and love my own tattoo as well. When I was 15 I saw Luhrman’s “Romeo + Juliet”; in it Pete Postlethewaite had a GIANT Celtic cross on his back. From that moment, I wanted one of my own. I’m part Irish with red hair so it fit. My mom wasn’t as big a fan. She calls it the “dessert plate” as it’s about 6 inches in diameter. I had it designed for me and finally got it when I was about 20, a year before going to Northern Ireland. After that trip, my tattoo became even more significant to me in some ways. I’ve always thought about going back to have another one done, but have always been afraid of my mother’s reaction.

    writercat81

    June 20, 2012 at 03:28

  10. Very Irish / Celtic TDoT…… i dare not ask where you will be placing this one!!! 😀

    mLr

    June 20, 2012 at 09:15

  11. Great concept, I reckon you will come up with some modifications by September.

    Cameron Keane

    June 20, 2012 at 09:56

  12. Great sketch, very talented! What does the brick symbolize?

    I have 4 tattoos, my favorite being a black and “white” peony on my right hip (took about 3.5 hours) that I got when I was on a trip to France. I also have a small penguin on my left side on my ribs, a sunflower on the inside of my right wrist and a heart on my middle lower back (that was the first one). I don’t regret any of them because it’s who I was when I got them. Though I wish I would have known that I was going to get more and I may have placed one or two differently.

    Danielle

    June 20, 2012 at 10:33

  13. This is awesome, I love it! I hope you’ll blog with a pic of the finished product as well!

    I don’t have any ink, but I’ve got some rad scars! And I’m supportive of tattoos– I love to hear the stories about what they mean, when they got it, and how many a person has. You should definitely blog when you get it.

    Unrelenting Amee

    June 21, 2012 at 10:43

  14. Nice artwork, the cross does have a religous tone, if that is what you are after… go for it.

    reflexio.com

    June 25, 2012 at 23:18


Leave a Reply

