The Dissemination of Thought

Just because it's in print doesn't mean it's intelligent…

Facebook friends and the end: will our obsession with social media make face-to-face contact a memory?

with 19 comments

Today’s post is another guest piece on Magnificent Nose, this time about a Facebook application that allows you to update your status after you have become earthworm food.

Source: technmarketing.com

It’s simple: I tempt you with a few lines that make absolutely no sense, and then you click here to zip across (is that the technological term?) to Magnificent Nose to read the full article.

The tagline on the “If I die” application’s website asks, “What happens to your Facebook profile if you die?” I always assumed that when I died, I’d be too busy being dead to consider what the world was doing without my status updates. While still in the land of the living, wouldn’t the time invested in planning our final broadcast be better spent rekindling relationships that have lapsed because of our fixation on maintaining hundreds of virtual friendships?

If you were disobedient and didn’t click on the above link like you were told to, try this one to read “The Final Check-In”.

While we are on the subject of social networking, remember to check out The Dissemination of Thought Facebook page. For every person that likes it, a unicycle-riding circus bear will be sent a cheque for $2* and a bag of Doritos.

* Author’s note: cheques will not be honoured. What the hell do bears need money for?

Upon escaping from the circus, Yogi pedalled like fuck and headed for the hills. Source: iphonetoolbox.com

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’d say this blog post makes a better argument for the direction in which social networking is going. http://defeasiblereasoning.wordpress.com/2012/01/25/facebook-this-facebook-that-update-your-status/

    pleonasty

    January 30, 2012 at 15:36

  2. I laughed… and then the bear saddened me 😦

    tennizzlle

    January 30, 2012 at 15:52

    • I’m not a fan of animals being forced to perform, but bears with hats or bears on unicycles have always made me laugh; a hat-wearing bear on a unicycle sends me into hysterics and almost causes me to lose bladder control.

      disseminatedthought

      January 30, 2012 at 15:57

  3. First it is bye bye post mail and next we will be just like Bruce Willis and his funness in the movie Surrogates!

    thefutureofhope

    January 30, 2012 at 17:51

    • I don’t think the world is ready for a surrogate robot version of me.

      One of my favourite quotes from the movie is:

      “Surrogacy is a perversion. It’s an addiction. And you have to kill the addict to kill the addiction.”

      I think it’s got a very skewed, dystopian vibe. I like it.

      disseminatedthought

      January 30, 2012 at 19:09

      • What kind of robot would you be?

        thefutureofhope

        January 30, 2012 at 20:59

      • I’m not entirely sure, but I presume I’d be somewhere between the T-800 and Bender. What about you?

        disseminatedthought

        January 30, 2012 at 23:24

      • Bwahahahahaha! Very nice! I dunno I need to think about it… Maybe a cross between a FemmeBot and Jonny5?

        thefutureofhope

        January 30, 2012 at 23:52

  4. Seriously?! Updating from the great beyond is beyond weird! I heard about that app but thought it was a joke.

    Adrienne schmadrienne

    January 31, 2012 at 00:25

  5. Yeah, don’t believe you on the bear thing, but I did like the Facebook page. Now, I’m going to shamelessly promote my own page. As the Pendulum Swings on Facebook.. Enjoy!

    LunaSunshine

    January 31, 2012 at 00:34

    • The Dissemination of Thought encourages shameless self-promotion!

      Thank you for following on Facebook. I haven’t been able to locate any bears with bikes, so should I send you the cheque and Doritos instead?

      disseminatedthought

      January 31, 2012 at 08:21

      • I enjoy collecting fake money to watch my son be pleased with himself. So, I’m wondering if fake cheques would have a similar effect. I don’t want your moneys, and I need a tredmill more than I need doritos. Or that fake money, like monopoly money.

        LunaSunshine

        January 31, 2012 at 15:16

      • I think he’ll love one of those giant novelty cheques.

        disseminatedthought

        January 31, 2012 at 15:20

  6. I hate Facebook. There, I’ve said it and I mean it. I find the interface unusable and am confounded at the amount of time people spend farming and liking and forming cold-side-of-the-pillow social networks. But what I really resent is that I have to be part of it, and I doubt I am alone in this. I look forward to haunting Facebook long after I’m dead.

    WSW

    January 31, 2012 at 00:42

  7. I hope not!

    The Hook

    January 31, 2012 at 14:04

  8. Very neat article.Really looking forward to read more. Want more.

    Nia Hostetler

    March 24, 2012 at 03:36


Leave a Reply

