The Dissemination of Thought

Just because it's in print doesn't mean it's intelligent…

It’s getting dark in here: The Dissemination of Thought and the SOPA/PIPA blackout

with 14 comments

The Dissemination of Thought will be participating in a blackout on 18 January to protest against the Stop Online Piracy Act (H.R.3261) and the Protect IP Act (S.968).

From 12:00am until 11:59pm tomorrow, this blog will be blacked out with the “Stop SOPA” message displayed. Lamentably, readers won’t be able to access any TDoT content during this period.

To check out what all the SOPA/PIPA kerfuffle (that’s right, I said kerfuffle) is about, click here.

As always, I appreciate your feedback, positive or negative, so please feel free to comment below. If you’d rather send me a vehement, expletive-filled email, clicking on this bit here will allow you to do so.

See you all again on 19 January.

Author’s note: thank you to Neil Fein at Magnificent Nose for providing a step-by-step guide to setting your blog up for the blackout. Check out Neil’s piece here.

TDoT is going to look something like this on 18 January.

‬Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry on my BlackBerry Bold 9700

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m conflicted. I think that SOPA is stupid and ridiculous and just more government focusing on things they don’t need to be whilst the big problems go unresolved.

    That said, I’m also really annoyed by how many sites are going to be taken down over this. And because I feel like I have to take down my own site because of what I know is right, even though I really don’t want to.

    Heather Christena Schmidt

    January 17, 2012 at 17:16

  2. Thank you for spreading the word!

    thefutureofhope

    January 17, 2012 at 17:58

    • If I can get enough people to listen to me, I’ve decided to start some sort of obscure cult.

      disseminatedthought

      January 17, 2012 at 19:25

      • Not much on cults… but still big on pancakes… So have a pancake breakfast and I’ll be there!

        thefutureofhope

        January 17, 2012 at 19:42

      • Dodgy cults seem to be all the rage at the moment.

        I like your pancake concept; we are going to have to throw in vodka and brightly-coloured robes to convince the masses: no cult is complete without alcohol and funky threads.

        disseminatedthought

        January 17, 2012 at 19:54

  3. Could always start a cult where drinking vodka, wearing funky threads and eating pancakes are the focus if the beliefs??? I could worship thise 3 things easy enough 😉

    mLr

    January 17, 2012 at 20:30

    • Do you think a one-off “membership fee” of $53,034 (plus GST) per person would scare potential followers away?

      disseminatedthought

      January 17, 2012 at 20:38

  4. Excellent post. More people need to know about this legislation as it has the potential to stifle free speech and give government and corporations far more control than they already have. Having Google participate will be huge in getting the word out about this. Thanks so much for adding your voice to the protest.

    sandylikeabeach

    January 17, 2012 at 22:51

  5. First of all, thanks for bringing awareness of the blackout. Secondly, I approve of the use of the word “kerfuffle”. I respect you even more for it.

    PCC Advantage

    January 19, 2012 at 00:50


Leave a Reply

