The Dissemination of Thought

Just because it's in print doesn't mean it's intelligent…

The Link and my discreetly placed ink

with 10 comments

The Dissemination of Thought has won a Grammy! Well, not quite. But considering my total lack of musical ability, this fabrication is probably as close as I’ll ever come to acquiring a little gilded gramophone. Unless I steal one from Eminem.

Heather from HeatherChristenaSchmidt.com has bestowed upon me the 7 x 7 Link Award, which means that in addition to thanking her profusely for referring people to my blog, I need to revisit 7 TDoT posts and offer them for critiquing by other readers; also, I’m meant to divulge a fact about myself that isn’t common knowledge. While I self-flagellate and determine which of my previous posts I want you to read, I suggest you go and check out Heather’s blog. It’s called The B(itch)Log. Clever, isn’t it? Go on, I’ll wait here for you.

A purposeless fact about me that readers of The Dissemination of Thought may not know:

I have a tattoo. I came up with the concept myself, and the artist made the necessary changes to make it work in the transition from paper to pale skin. It took four hours from start to finish, which is a painfully long time to sit in one place, especially when your attention span is as short as mine.

If you’re in Brisbane and looking to have work done, I suggest you give Bernie at Wild at Heart Tattoo a call.

Most Beautiful

I don’t really do beautiful per se, but I wrote this piece as a tribute to my grandmother, following her passing in November.

Most Helpful

”Petworking: a paw-ly written piece about why felines don’t need Facebook…” helped people understand the pet owners who think that every feline should have a Facebook profile. And play FarmVille.

Most Popular

Based on the number of comments, ”Diamond Rings and perplexing things” gets this gong. Who would have thought that a five minute bus ride would generate so much interest?

Most Controversial

It was one of my earliest posts, but in ”Creationists get on the floor, everybody Walk the Dinosaur”, I questioned why school children were being taught that Adam and Eve weren’t eaten by dinosaurs because they were under a protective spell. I shit you not.

Most Surprisingly Successful

This one goes to “Why I wanted to throw an Oompa-Loompa off a moving ferry: blogging from the BlackBerry”. It would appear that I’m not the only one who finds screaming munchkins and poor parenting irritating.

Most Underrated

I’ve given this one to ”Strippers, beer and Germaine Greer: why the sex industry gets a bad wrap”, which looks at the narrow-minded personal views that people form about strippers and others sex industry workers. I thought it would be more popular than it was, but maybe it just proves that no one ever types “Germaine Greer” and “sex” in the same Google search.

Most Pride-Worthy

I can sum up ”They say any sex is good sex, so why doesn’t it apply to marriage?” in one word: equality.

I could give you my abridged thoughts on the 7 blogs that I’m nominating for the 7 x 7 Link Award, but checking them out on your own will be more fun. And involve less work for me. What’s the risk? I personally think these blogs are awesome. So should you.

Author’s note: I can’t be responsible if you don’t find things awesome. Blame your parents. Or that gap on the shelf where your sense of humour should be.

That’s Just Ridiculous
Impassioned Rantings of an Unbalanced Mind
healthytakeover
The Sonia Show
Pasta for One
frugalistablog
Solomonian

For those readers who haven’t yet done so, please follow me at The Dissemination of Thought Facebook page. It’s ridiculously easy to do. Just click this link. Then click on the Like button. It’s as simple as boiling an egg, without the scalding. And the egg.

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations! Well deserved!

    krismerino

    December 29, 2011 at 00:06

    • Thanks! Regardless of what anyone else says, there’s a certain narcissistic element to blogging, and it’s extremely gratifying to know that people other than my mother keep coming back for more The Dissemination of Thought.

      disseminatedthought

      December 29, 2011 at 08:20

  2. Thanks for sharing the love and paying it forward with the 7 x 7 award. If my kids don’t get breakfast because I’m too busy posting about it, I’m blaming you.

    blondgirl008

    December 29, 2011 at 02:06

    • You are more than welcome. How could I not nominate a blog that discusses a doll whose breasts change size when you spin its arms around?

      It would appear everything that goes wrong on the planet is now officially my fault. War. Famine. Kids not getting breakfast.

      disseminatedthought

      December 29, 2011 at 08:30

  3. Congratulations on the award and another great post even if it is about previous posts lol.

    Cameron Keane

    December 29, 2011 at 08:22

    • I think writing this one and reflecting on older posts was more time-consuming than coming up with a concept from scratch.

      After going through the 43 pieces preceding this one, I’ve reached a conclusion: I really do write some shit.

      disseminatedthought

      December 29, 2011 at 08:40

  4. Congrats mate! And yes, everything and everything is your fault now you know hehehehe

    mLr

    December 29, 2011 at 08:55

  5. Congratulations. You write a most excellent blog!

    sandylikeabeach

    December 29, 2011 at 12:02


Leave a Reply

