The Dissemination of Thought

Just because it's in print doesn't mean it's intelligent…

All I want for Christmas is Muse

with 7 comments

An odd (and bored) look at the first “inspiration” for this piece. © Lyndon Keane 2011. Original photograph edited with Photo Editor Ultimate.

There wasn’t meant to be a The Dissemination of Thought post tonight. I was planning on relaxing with a DVD and ice cream while I bid on shit I really don’t need on eBay. Like most good plans, mine came unstuck somewhere along the line, specifically at the point where I substituted the mint chocolate chip for three glasses of red wine and a few Scotches.

Inspiration No. 2: Lagavulin 16-year-old. © Lyndon Keane 2011. Original photograph edited with Photo Editor Ultimate.

Between witnessing a myriad of morons – which from this point on will officially replace the twelve drummers drumming – throwing credit cards around in a last-minute buying frenzy and contemplating Thalia’s eventual return, I postulated about what I’d request for Christmas if there was actually an omnipotent figure with a penchant for red suits in charge of dishing out presents. A Ferrari? My weight in cash? A perpetual supply of socks and jocks? No, there’s only one thing that makes any sense to ask this festive season genie for: my Muse.

When you look past the ridiculous materialistic and commercial elements, this time of year is all about family and friends. Thalia’s a mix of both. She embarrasses me, but she makes me proud. I care deeply for her, but her jokes suck. She’s selfish, but I’ve got dibs on her liver. I’ve given up trying to work out where she is and when she’ll turn up next, but I know that if I really need her, she’ll be there. If it’s after 8:45am she’ll have a buzz on, and I’m convinced that she is stealing my CDs one by one, but my Muse will be there, inspiring me and offering answers as to why I’ve woken up in the shower with the water still running, holding an empty bottle of single malt and using a soggy copy of Rolling Stone as a makeshift pillow.

 

So if I only get one gift this year, I’d like Thalia back: tanned, sober(ish) and ready to get her lazy, hightailing ass back to work.

Author’s note to the jolly fat man: Santa, if you’re reading this, a left-handed Kurt Cobain Jaguar would make a fantastic stocking stuffer. I know I don’t play yet, but having that axe would certainly help to inspire me to guitar greatness. Or not. It’s your call.

All I want for Christmas is...well, this wouldn’t hurt either. Source: fender.com

Written by disseminatedthought

December 19, 2011 at 22:02

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So you are hoping your Muse will inspire you to channel Kurt Cobain??? Interesting concept, except your designer drug of choice is liquid instead of powder!! Be sure to keep us all informed of your progress on this quest! 😉

    Dougy

    December 20, 2011 at 08:19

    • I figure if Santa does come good on the guitar and I decide not to go through with the “learning to play” idea, I’ve got something valuable to hock. Or regift.

      disseminatedthought

      December 20, 2011 at 08:32

  2. Lagavulin 16 is the first scotch I tasted. That smokey taste….oh my!

    Adrienne schmadrienne

    December 20, 2011 at 13:14

    • You didn’t like it? It definitely has a very strong, distinct flavour. You should try the Monkey Shoulder that I mentioned in the post today.

      disseminatedthought

      December 20, 2011 at 13:20

  3. No I really liked it. It caught me off guard.

    Adrienne schmadrienne

    December 22, 2011 at 02:14

  4. You play guitar???

    leeschmidt

    February 6, 2012 at 21:41

    • Nope. I was contemplating making it my challenge for 2012, but haven’t done anything about it yet.

      disseminatedthought

      February 7, 2012 at 21:26


Leave a Reply

