The Dissemination of Thought

Just because it's in print doesn't mean it's intelligent…

“I’d like to thank the Academy…”

with 19 comments

As I was putting the finishing touches to today’s TDoT post about lycra and lattes, I got a message notifying me that I’d received a Versatile Blogger Award.

As with everything in life, the Versatile Blogger Award comes with some rules. Responsibilities, if you will. As a recipient, I need to:

  • Thank the person who gave me the award, and link this “acceptance speech” back to their blog.
  • Tell TDoT readers 7 things about myself.
  • Nominate 15 blogs that I enjoy for their own Versatile Blogger Award, and then include the appropriate links to their sites.
  • Contact the aforementioned nominees to advise them of the good news.

The first step is easy. I’d sincerely like to thank B.B.Darlington for bestowing the nomination upon me. It’s a great feeling to know that people other than yours truly like this blog. Is it too early for paid The Dissemination of Thought subscriptions?

Now, for 7 things about me.

1. I’m somewhat addicted to orange Tic Tacs.
2. I can cook, but I rarely do. I live in the middle of the city and have a diverse assortment of menus on my desk – why would I bother firing up the oven?
3. My freezer currently contains ice cubes, half a loaf of bread, vanilla ice cream and a bottle of vodka. The vodka won’t be in there for much longer.
4. I want to learn to play the guitar. I love music, but have no musical ability as far as I’m aware.
5. My favourite book of all time is Nineteen Eighty-Four by George Orwell.
6. I love Converse sneakers. I have far too many pairs as it is, but I can’t stop buying them. I have a problem.
7. I loathe reality television.

The 15 blogs that I want you guys to find out about – if you haven’t already done so – are:

1. broadsofthebeltway
2. healthytakeover
3. Impassioned Rantings of an Unbalanced Mind
4. Miss Demure Restraint  Author’s note: she’s already got one of these awards, but deserves another.
5. missmaribelmaeve
6. PCC Advantage
7. Riding in Cars with Goats and Other Stories
8. Solomonian
9. Fiercly Yours
10. the daily dilemma
11. Virgin Vagina’s
12. Mud Junkie
13. One Bedroom Wonders
14. RentAMomma
15. Facehookin’

Now I could give you a synopsis about each site, or you could click on the links above and check them out for yourself. Stop being so fucking lazy.

Thank you once again to B.B.Darlington, as well as the rest of you who inflate my ego by reading The Dissemination of Thought.

Written by disseminatedthought

December 13, 2011 at 17:50

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations! But how can you loathe reality television?? It’s a great way to feel superior to the general public if nothing else. : ) As an avid watcher of such gems as the Real Housewives series, Millionaire Matchmaker and Coach Trip I beg you to reconsider.

    I'd Rather Be In Iceland

    December 13, 2011 at 20:17

    • The Kardashians and forty-eight seconds of Jersey Shore that I had to endure ruined it for me. I can’t fathom how a group of people without any discernible talent or personality can become “famous” for doing nothing. What the hell is wrong with society when we are relying on these morons to entertain us?

      disseminatedthought

      December 13, 2011 at 20:29

  2. OMG you make me laugh, you brilliant man. And yes, I am sure the vodka won’t be there much longer. Thank you for linking me..you are the best. Sidebar: Reality TV sux because do we really need to watch fake drama for entertainment when there are plenty of biatches willing to create drama in your real life everyday?!

    missmaribelmaeve

    December 13, 2011 at 21:52

  3. just bounced over to virgin vagina .. love it! thanks for the heads up, and well done!

    tinkerbelle86

    December 13, 2011 at 23:00

  4. Awww…thanks so much for including me in your list, TDot! To be honest, I’m pretty sure I don’t belong up there because I’m kind of a lame blogger, but thank you nonetheless. 🙂

    Also, I hate reality TV as well. I feel like anytime a commercial for The Bachelor comes on, my IQ drops 17 points. So, usually by the end of 1 hour of watching TV interspersed with these commercials, I am virtually an idiot.

    PCC Advantage

    December 14, 2011 at 00:52

    • You are more than welcome. Your blog makes me laugh about a variety of geeky and obscure topics, so it’s got to be nominated.

      I think a piece about reality television may be required.

      disseminatedthought

      December 14, 2011 at 05:54

  5. Congratulations both on the award and the contents of your freezer!

    the waiting

    December 14, 2011 at 01:11

    • Thank you. It’s nice to know that people don’t find my writing disturbing and intolerable. I haven’t received any abusive emails or hate mail yet, so I still have a long way to go.

      Welcome to The Dissemination of Thought. Please keep your hands inside the vehicle at all times.

      disseminatedthought

      December 14, 2011 at 05:58

  6. Thanks for the shout out and the list of new blogs to check out. There sure is a lot of interesting stuff out there.

    Maria Ada

    December 14, 2011 at 06:22

  7. Yes – thanks for list of great blogs – and for commenting on mine this morning! I see what you mean about different lengths of posts- It feels lively. Love the sports clothes pics btw. Disturbing, but then I’ve led a sheltered life!

    Jenny Alexander

    December 14, 2011 at 20:34

    • It wouldn’t matter if you’d spent the last five years touring with Cirque du Soleil, snorting $2,000 worth of cocaine a day and dating a unicycle-riding bear: those outfits would still be disturbing.

      Welcome to the madness that is The Dissemination of Thought.

      disseminatedthought

      December 14, 2011 at 20:51

  8. Sounds like my kind of freezer! Ice cream and vodka, the fuel of writers. Love your blog, thanks for finding me so I could find you 😉

    byroisinhealy

    December 14, 2011 at 21:15

  9. I’m pretty sure I could survive for at least 3 or 4 years on just vodka, ice cream and good coffee.

    Thanks for the positive feedback, and welcome to TDoT.

    disseminatedthought

    December 14, 2011 at 21:25

  10. Thanks for the nomination and making me feel special– now I shall stalk you.

    Fiercely Yours

    December 15, 2011 at 13:18

  11. Thank you so very much for the award. I’m honored. My apologies for don’t getting back to you sooner, but I will be sure to address the award in my blog shortly.

    After reading your list of seven, I believe it is possible we may be long lost cousins. The key differences being that I crave the white TicTacs, the vodka is no longer in my freezer and my shoe problem crosses all types . . . I can’t seem to stop acquiring shoes. LOL!

    Miss Demure Restraint

    December 18, 2011 at 11:00

    • Lamentably, the vodka only lasted for about an hour after I published the original piece. (Note to self: buy more vodka.)

      I’m pretty confident that I wouldn’t look as good in electric green stilettos or hooker boots as you do.

      disseminatedthought

      December 18, 2011 at 12:40


Leave a Reply

