The Dissemination of Thought

Just because it's in print doesn't mean it's intelligent…

Pondering life’s big questions, 375mL at a time…

with 12 comments

There are a myriad of questions in life that beg to be answered.  Will I ever find true love?  What’s the meaning of life?  Why do I keep reading The Dissemination of Thought?  Today’s TDoT post seeks elucidation on another of life’s mysteries.  A conundrum that has never been examined until 9:47am on 12 December, 2011.

Exhibit A: the can causing me the confusion.

This can of Coke is seemingly identical to the dozens of others that have resided in my refrigerator over the past 11 months.  It holds 375mL of sugar-saturated liquid and reminds me that had I purchased it in South Australia, I’d be entitled to a 10c refund.  The characteristic that differentiates this can from those that have gone before it baffles me.  It’s empty.  Logic would dictate that I must have put it back after I’d finished it, but my motive for doing so eludes me.

Why the hell is there an empty can of Coke in my refrigerator? 

What’s the strangest thing you’ve found somewhere that it shouldn’t be?

Written by disseminatedthought

December 12, 2011 at 10:29

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I blame one of your friends. Many years ago in a sharehouse, a friend of mine would put an empty glass in the fridge when visiting, to see how long we’d just assume a housemate was chilling it and leave it there.

    newswithnipples

    December 12, 2011 at 10:32

    • That explanation would certainly deflect attention away from the fact that I may be losing the plot.

      Welcome back to TDoT.

      disseminatedthought

      December 12, 2011 at 10:52

  2. I will admit I would not expect an empty can in your fridge. Personally I have found a box of cereal in the fridge, I personally blame the pregnant wife at the time but others may say I did this.

    Cameron Keane

    December 12, 2011 at 10:44

  3. I leave empty cans, bags, and boxes around all the time…just so I can blame the wife.

    Rob Rubin

    December 12, 2011 at 11:37

    • My problem is that I have no idea what compelled me to put the empty can back into the fridge.

      Welcome to The Dissemination of Thought. Please don’t leave your empty pizza box on the bench.

      disseminatedthought

      December 12, 2011 at 11:50

  4. I once found a Barbie arm in the cuff of my pants after playing on a playground.

    Fiercely Yours

    December 12, 2011 at 14:57

    • Were you playing with a Barbie prior to making the discovery, or was it just a random plastic limb?

      Thanks for your input, and welcome to The Dissemination of Thought. Stop writing on the fucking wall in crayon.

      disseminatedthought

      December 12, 2011 at 15:02

      • It was random. I don’t know if a kid dropped it while standing next to me or whether it got kicked up from the sand, but it’s mine now. I keep it next to the crayons.

        Fiercely Yours

        December 12, 2011 at 15:40

      • Random body parts in the playground. Good times.

        disseminatedthought

        December 12, 2011 at 15:45

  5. I recall find the Vegemite in the freezer after a random act of flatmate rage.

    OzSpinCycle

    December 12, 2011 at 23:19


Leave a Reply

